Actually Quick & Easy Healthy Cooking

One of the biggest challenges for everyone with the goal of eating healthy – REAL FOOD – is the time + inspiration + motivation required.  Sometimes that all feels like too much!
Real Food demands a lot more prep time than most of our modern-day, American schedules allow for.  And, honestly, even when I might have the time, I still have so much going on in my brain that the thought of really cooking feels overwhelming.  #amiright   Please tell me you can relate!
If this is you – – I have the perfect resource to share! 
When I first began making lifestyle and food changes, I quickly stumbled across the blog 100 Days of Real Food.  This site has been my very favorite resource for myself and to share with others for years now!  And today, I get to tell you about their newest cookbook, 100 Days of Real Food: Fast & Fabulous, which is full of easy and quick  – but delicious! – recipes.  Exactly what I need.
I was sent an early copy of the cookbook, and I am already encouraged and re-inspired!  I can do this kind of cooking!  {no more snack meals!}
100 Days of Real Food Cookbook
First – a little back story:  Lisa Leake was a Mom and writer who had been hearing about this “Real Food Revolution” that promised to transform health and lives.  So she decided to put it to the test with her own family.  They committed to 100 days of real food – – eating only fresh foods or packaged foods with just 5 (recognizable food) ingredients or less.  And at the end of the 100 day experiment, they all felt so incredibly healthier and happier that they never went back!  In fact, that trial session literally completely transformed their lives in every way, and she (thankfully!) began her blog to share their story.
   100 Days of Real Food
I can relate very well to Lisa’s story.  But I also love her blog because she does the best job I’ve seen in creating a real food, healthy & clean living lifestyle that is truly do-able and keeps everyone in the family happy.  I’ve followed brutally honest shares about finding balance for her kids, who love the way they eat but still wanted the “junk food” at school sometimes.  She talks bluntly about budgets and making healthy eating and living affordable.  And she is not afraid to dive into some of the cultural issues that have put us where we are today in our country.  If you are ready to try this lifestyle out for yourself, the structure, plans, and resources are right there, waiting for you.
And – – I am ALL ABOUT the awesome recipes!  Anyone with kids NEEDS to bookmark this resource and start using it ASAP.  These are recipes that are simple and completely clean and good for you, and you can easily find options to keep everyone in the family happy.  Some of my favorites from the website are the super easy Macaroni & Cheese (no more fake cheese!), soups, muffins, quick breads – – pretty much everything…
100 Days of Real Food CookbookLisa has also become known for the awesome school (or work!) lunches she shares, and she included a section devoted to this theme in this cookbook!
I don’t know about you, but sometimes I completely run out of inspiration for lunches that are easy to transport and still healthy.  And I refuse to spend crazy amounts of money on buying lunch every day!  Be sure to follow their social media accounts or browse the School Lunch section on the blog.
OK – so the cookbook.  Yes, you do need this cookbook PLUS the recipes on 100 Days of Real Food Cookbookthe website!  They are all new recipes, and what I really love about this collection is that it targets what I hear as the biggest challenge for all of us in eating well.  The cookbook is currently available for preorder (discounted!) on Amazon, and officially launches tomorrow, October 25th.
I showed my copy to a few friends – and they immediately said they are totally grabbing their own copy!  I’ll page through mine a bit for you on Instagram Stories later today and sometime again this week – so be sure to check it out there if you want your own sneak peak. 🙂
I finally did some much needed grocery shopping over the weekend {my icebox was BARE}, and threw together this White Chicken Chili in no time. I always try to make something over the weekend to help fill in the next week’s lunches – or a 100 Days of Real Foodquick dinner or two.  And chili is perfect for this cooler Fall weather!  Plus, I had frozen chicken from a crockpot chicken I made a while back, and I needed it out of the way for new groceries.  Oh – and I am totally making the cornbread in the cookbook tonight!  Seriously – it is just as easy as the pre-mixed boxes that we pay too much for…
I have special permission to share this recipe with you!  Enjoy.
White Chicken ChiliFast & Fabulous Cookbook 100 Days of Real Food
Difficulty: Easy || Prep time: 10 to 15 minutes || Cook time: Less than 30 minutes || Makes 4 servings
GLUTEN-FREE / NUT-FREE / FREEZER-FRIENDLY
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 onion, diced
1/2 jalapeño, minced
1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1-inch pieces
1 garlic clove, minced
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 1/4 teaspoons salt
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 cup frozen corn kernels (no need to thaw)
Two 15-ounce cans white beans (such as Great Northern or cannellini), drained and rinsed
1 3/4 cups chicken broth, store bought or homemade (page 103)
1/4 cup heavy cream
TOPPINGS: Chopped cilantro, sour cream, grated Monterey Jack cheese, diced avocado, and/or corn tortilla strips
Whether you call this dish a chili or hearty chicken and bean stew, it’s definitely a winner. The first time I made it for my kids, they asked me so many times what it was called, but by the end of the meal they cared much more about getting second helpings than remembering the name! If you have time be sure to double the recipe and store in the fridge or freezer, because, like most soups and stews, the leftovers are amazing.             – Lisa Leake
1. In a medium soup pot, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion and jalapeño and cook, stirring, until the onion has softened, 2 to 3 minutes.
2. Add the chicken and cook, stirring occasionally, until it is lightly browned on the outside and no longer pink on the inside (add more olive oil if the pot starts to dry out), 4 to 5 minutes.
3. Toss the minced garlic and spices into the pot and turn a few times
to coat the chicken evenly. Add the corn, beans, and chicken broth and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to low and simmer, about 20 minutes.
4. Break up some of the beans with the back of a wooden spoon to help thicken the chili. Stir in the cream, garnish with the desired toppings, and serve!
LISA’S TIP: This dish is also great with leftover cooked chicken. Just skip step 2 and add the cooked chicken with the garlic and spices in step 3.
I added extra seasonings for more spice and left my pot simmering on the stove for awhile, since my goal was to create some lunches for the week.  ButI MIGHT have sneaked a few tastes – – or maybe more than a few…  This chili is YUMMY.
I’m honored to be an official Cookbook Ambassador for Lisa.  Please tell me what you think!  Are you as excited as I am about resources that are real-life and real-family friendly?
And please let me know when you’ve ordered your copy of the Fast & Fabulous cookbook.  Let’s compare favorites!
#liveuluwehi
Share your thoughts...

